Everyone 18 or older on Election Day, and eligible to vote, will primarily be voting in 2 or 3 elections.

Election day 2022: Sunday, September 11 (it's always on a Sunday).

The three different elections are:

  1. General election for The Riksdag, the supreme assembly of politicians in Sweden. In Swedish: Val till Riksdagen.
  2. General election for the Region Assembly (Sweden has 21 administrative counties/regions). In Swedish: Val till regionfullmäktige.
  3. General election for the Municipal Assembly – Sweden is divided into 290 municipalities. In Swedish: Val till kommunfullmäktige.

Swedish citizenship is required for The Riksdag vote. For the region and municipal votes, specific combinations of citizenship and being registered for population purposes can give you voter rights.